September 4, 2014

Mr. Pat Milhizer, Editor Chicago Daily Law Bulletin 415 North State Street Chicago, IL 60654

Dear Editor,

As Darryl McPherson takes on a Headquarters role as Senior Inspector for the Judicial Security Division of the United States Marshals Service, we undersigned judges of the federal court wish to thank him publicly for his service as United States Marshal for the Northern District of Illinois.

Marshal McPherson provided outstanding and unflagging support to the federal district court during his four years in office. He made the needs of the judges primary, in terms of transportation of prisoners to and from courtrooms, execution of bench warrants, safety of judges, attorneys, and court personnel during court sessions, and response to threats and other inappropriate communications. He gave the bankruptcy judges the same attention and protection as the district and magistrate judges. He also made the living conditions and health concerns of federal detainees housed in local county jails a priority of the Marshals Service. Indeed, whenever a judge contacted him about any concern relating to the court, he personally responded quickly and effectively.

In addition to his official duties, Marshal McPherson demonstrated community leadership in a variety of ways such as building cooperative relationships with other law enforcement entities in the area. He welcomed school and youth groups to the office for educational purposes and has spent many hours of his own time in charitable work with at-risk children, including the Cal Ripken Foundation and Boys and Girls Clubs of Chicago. He has spoken at elementary and high school graduation ceremonies in order to challenge youth to be the best they can be.

Mr. Pat Milhizer September 3, 2014 Page 2

We judges respect the Marshal's career decision. We are confident that he will be as diligent, dedicated, and highly effective in his new position as he was on behalf of the United States District Court. As we will see less of him from now on, we take this occasion to extend our thanks, congratulations, and best wishes to him and his family.

Sincerely yours,

Joan H. Lefkow

Rubén Castillo, Chief Judge

Marvin E. Aspen Elaine E. Bucklo Edmond Chang

Sharon Johnson Coleman

John W. Darrah

Samuel Der-Yeghiayan Robert M. Dow, Jr.

Thomas M. Durkin

Sara L. Ellis Gary Feinerman

Robert W. Gettleman

Joan B. Gottschall

John F. Grady

Ronald A. Guzman

James F. Holderman

Frederick J. Kapala

Virginia Kendall

Matthew F. Kennelly

Charles P. Kocoras

John Z. Lee

Joan Humphrey Lefkow

Harry D. Leinenweber

George M. Marovich

Rebecca R. Pallmeyer

Phillip G. Reinhard

Milton I. Shadur

Manish Shah

Amy St. Eve

John J. Tharp, Jr.

Andrea R. Wood

James B. Zagel

Geraldine Soat Brown

Jeffrey Cole

Jan K Ligkons

Susan E. Cox

Sheila M. Finnegan

Iain Johnston

Young M. Kim

Daniel G. Martin

Michael T. Mason

Mary M. Rowland

Maria Valdez

Janet Baer

Bruce W. Black

Timothy A. Barnes

Donald R. Cassling

Jacqueline P. Cox

Carol A. Doyle

A. Benjamin Goldgar

Pamela S. Hollis

Thomas M. Lynch

Jack B. Schmetterer

Eugene R. Wedoff